not mine, but wish they were

I kept meaning to write this post for a while…

There are some amazing projects on Kickstarter.  You know this.  Everyone does.  But so many good ones go unnoticed and sometimes I wonder what it is that made me so lucky to be in the popular clique – and so many didn’t.

So, here’s a roundup of my favorites – great projects that aren’t hitting their goals at all.

B.A.D.A.S.S.: This gloriously gorgeous and large project created by brilliant Texan Adrian Nelson is full of charismatic art – the sort that’s a bit of a mix between superhero and manga in the loveliest way – and a really fun action-adventure story.  The main character is Sam Seer, who just got hired by an agency searching for aliens and supernaturals hiding amongst the people.  It reminds me of a non-comedic, darker Men in Black (which is, if you know me, one of my favorite movies ever).  Plus, check out those crazy awards! $5 gets you a comic, $25 gets you all 6 issues!

GRIDIRON #1: a Man vs. The Odds story that sounds as though it is about an underdog sports team, but really it is about fighting through a world of unhappy circumstances.  It’s the 1920’s and there’s a world war, a depression, a flu epidemic… and there’s a group of boys who need to give their country a win.  A truly American story by award-winning writer Greg Le Duq.

Dragons in the Clouds: How could a fantasy comic story with such gorgeous illustration do this badly?  I don’t know anything about David Blair, but the art is just so pretty, I can’t imagine why it’s so deep in the trough of kickstarter.

I don’t know any of these guys personally – outside of a comment or two in passing, but I feel their projects speak for themselves.

Leave a comment